ANOHA Kinderwelt im jüdischen Museum, Berlin

ANOHA Kinderwelt im jüdischen Museum

Gegenüber dem Jüdischen Museum im Berliner Stadtteil Kreuzberg steht eine riesige Halle, die früher ein Blumengroßmarkt war und die zum Museum gehört. Im vorderen Teil der Halle, einem Betonbau von 1963, ist die W.M. Blumenthal Akademie untergebracht. Im hinteren Teil befindet sich eine moderne Interpretation der Arche Noah, kurz ANOHA, als „Haus-in-Haus“: Eine sieben Meter hohe runde Konstruktion aus Fichtenholz mit 28 Metern Durchmesser ist das Zentrum der neuen Kinderwelt des Jüdischen Museums und bildet einen weichen Kontrapunkt zum Stahlbeton der Halle in Skelettbauweise.
Bei der Realisierung des Mitmach-Museums als Dauerausstellung wurde auf Nachhaltigkeit geachtet. Die ehemalige Markthalle blieb weitgehend unverändert, das ist gut für einen geringen ökologischen Fußabdruck. Für den inneren Neubau ist heimisches Fichtenholz das dominierende Material der Tragkonstruktion, der Wände und Decken. Wo der Boden nicht aus Holz ist, hat er einen robusten Belag aus Kautschuk.
Das große Volumen dieser Halle dient direkt als Frischluftbatterie und auch als thermischer Puffer, im Winter wie im Sommer. Leise Deckenventilatoren verteilen die Luft und öffenbare Fenster in der Arche sorgen für Luftaustausch und natürliche Belüftung im Museumsraum.
So konnte insgesamt auf eine mechanische Belüftung des Museums verzichtet werden, was die Energielasten sehr niedrig hält.
Die geschwungenen Beton-Dachformen der Halle lassen ausreichend Tageslicht in den Innenraum fallen. Die Fenster der Arche unterstützen diesen passiven Tageslichtansatz. Die Halle bleibt unbeheizt. Erwärmt wird die Arche über Fußbodenheizung, die im Sommer im Extremfall auch zur Kühlung verwendet werden kann.
Im Frühjahr 2022 hat Transsolar Rauchversuche im Gebäude durchgeführt.
Diese erlauben den Schluss, dass die Ventilatoren für eine gute Durchmischung der einströmenden Luft mit der wärmeren Raumluft sorgen, die eintretende Luft also wärmer machen und dadurch Zugerscheinungen im Winter minimieren und den thermischen Komfort verbessern.

2021 AIA Seattle Honor Awards for Washington Architecture, Award of Merit
2020 AIA Northwest and Pacific Region Design Awards, Honor Award
2020 Interior Design Best of Year Award Winner, Kids’ Zone Category

ANOHA Kinderwelt im jüdischen Museum

Klimakonzept. Zeichnung: Olson Kundig

ANOHA Kinderwelt im jüdischen Museum

Grundriss: Olson Kundig

ANOHA Kinderwelt im jüdischen Museum

Rauchversuch 11.04.2022. Details im Video, Link dazu oben im Projekttext.

ANOHA Kinderwelt im jüdischen Museum

Rauchversuch 11.04.2022. Details im Video, Link dazu oben im Projekttext.

ANOHA The Children’s World of the Jewish Museum, Berlin

ANOHA The Children’s World of the Jewish Museum

Facing the Jewish Museum in Berlin's Kreuzberg district is a huge hall that used to be a wholesale flower market and which is now part of the museum. The front part of the hall, a concrete building from 1963, houses the W.M. Blumenthal Academy. In the rear part is a modern interpretation of Noah's Ark, or ANOHA for short, as „house-in-house": a seven-meter-high round construction made of spruce wood with a diameter of 28 meters is the center of the Jewish Museum's new children's world and forms a soft counterpoint to the reinforced concrete of the hall in skeleton construction.
In the realization of the interactive museum as a permanent attraction, attention was paid to sustainability. The former market hall was left largely untouched, which is good for a low ecological footprint. For the new timber building, native spruce wood is the dominant material of the supporting structure, walls and ceilings. Where the floor is not made of wood, it has a robust rubber covering.
The large volume of this hall serves directly as a fresh air battery and also as a thermal buffer, in winter and summer. Low-noise ceiling fans distribute the air inside the ark; openings in the ark provide air exchange from the fresh air battery, which in essence leads to a naturally ventilated museum space.
Overall, this eliminated the need for mechanical ventilation in the museum, keeping energy demand very low.
The curved concrete roof forms of the hall allow sufficient daylight to enter the interior. The windows of the ark support this passive daylighting approach. The hall remains unheated. The ark is to be warmed by underfloor heating, which in extreme cases in summer can also be used for cooling purposes.
In the spring of 2022, Transsolar conducted smoke tests in the building.
These allow the conclusion that the fans provide increased mixing of the incoming air with the heated indoor air, thus making the incoming air warmer, minimizing the risk of draft and improving thermal comfort.

2021 AIA Seattle Honor Awards for Washington Architecture, Award of Merit
2020 AIA Northwest and Pacific Region Design Awards, Honor Award
2020 Interior Design Best of Year Award Winner, Kids’ Zone Category

ANOHA The Children’s World of the Jewish Museum

Climate Concept. Drawing: Olson Kundig

ANOHA The Children’s World of the Jewish Museum

Floorplan: Olson Kundig

ANOHA The Children’s World of the Jewish Museum

Smoke test 04/11/2022. See details in video, link in the project text above.

ANOHA The Children’s World of the Jewish Museum

Smoke test 04/11/2022. See details in video, link in the project text above.